Art historical research and inventory unit > Ornamenta Sacra


Ornamenta sacra. An iconological study of the liturgical heritage from the Southern Netherlands (1400-1700)


Co-ordinator: Prof. Dr Ralph Dekoninck (Université Catholique de Louvain, Louvain-la-Neuve, Group for Early-Modern Cultural Analysis (Gemca), Louvain-la-Neuve

Promotor 1: Prof. Dr Barbara Baert, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Iconology Research Group (IRG) / Illuminare
Promotor 2: Dr Marie-Christine Claes (KIK-IRPA)
Collaborator: Dr Caroline Heering, postdoc (UCL), Emmanuel Joly, PhD student (KIK-IRPA), Soetkin Vanhauwaert, PhD student (KU Leuven), Wendy Wauters, PhD student (KU Leuven)

Project financed by the Belgian Science Policy Office (BELSPO) in the framework of BRAIN-BE

October 2017 – September 2020



 

This collective project, gathering scholars from different institutions (KIK-IRPA, UCL, KU Leuven), aims at conducting an iconological and anthropological research devoted to the late medieval and early modern liturgical heritage (called ornamenta sacra during this period) from the Southern Netherlands (1400-1700). It is concerned with different kinds of objects – made of a wide variety of materials and techniques (such as chalices, monstrances, censers, altar vases, candlesticks, chasubles…) – fundamental to the ceremonial and occupying a central place in the religious art of the past. We will investigate the provenance, the nature (material, technical, stylistic, iconographic…) and the evolution of this production in order to better understand its religious, social and artistic importance in a timeframe characterized by profound liturgical transformations and by religious conflicts and reforms.

In this respect, the focus on the Southern Netherlands is particularly relevant. Indeed, due to its location at confessional and cultural borders this region appears to be an interesting vantage point to observe all the reconfigurations of the relationships between art and liturgy. This spatiotemporal framework will allow us to determine to what extent the evolving norms (especially after the Council of Trent and the consecutive Romanisation of the liturgy) but also the politico-religious turmoil (e.g. the Iconoclastic Fury of 1566) had an impact on liturgical practices.

The historical anthropology of the visual, the sensible and the ritual will offer us a methodological framework within which we will consider the material and symbolic nature as well as the spatial and ritual context of these objects, so as to provide a renewed analysis of their forms and functions. We will also build up an original methodology in order to trace the links (in terms of provenance, typology or chronology) between objects that are part of liturgical sets, which today are often dismantled and spread over different collections (museums, private collections, church treasures…). 


Web resources for research, sourcing and valorisation strategies

The principal aim of this project is to highlight this threatened or neglected cultural heritage by developing new online resources on the website of the Royal Institute for Cultural Heritage (KIK-IRPA) in order to sustain a team research but also to offer an efficient tool to a broader national and international community concerned with the understanding, preservation and valorisation of what is usually relegated to the field of the decorative arts. It will contribute to the promotion and to a better knowledge of a rich heritage, improve digital data management and help to valorize our federal photographic heritage.


Ornamenta
and decorum

In line with some new trends in art historical research devoted to the study of the relationships between art and religion, we would like to investigate the complex and evolving status, functions and uses of these objects. Intimately related to a ritual context, they are intended to serve the liturgy. We need, thus, to study their performative power, which is closely related to their aesthetic dimension. These liturgical objects are indeed efficient not only because of their intended function but also because of their material, symbolic and artistic values. Even though these two main dimensions – aesthetic and functional – have been traditionally conceived as antithetic, their intrinsic interactions need to be reassessed, especially with regard to the issue of decorum, that is the appropriateness of form to function.


Senses and experience

This issue of the role of ornaments in their relation to the aesthetic value and liturgical functions of the objects under scrutiny leads to a reflection on the interactions between motions and emotions. We will take advantage of recent studies on the history of the senses and the sensible to shed new light on the synesthetic experience triggered by the ornamenta sacra. One part of the study will thus focus on their different functions in the experience of the sensorium: seeing, hearing, touching, smelling, tasting. We will show how through these senses, the different media are efficiently interwoven with the audience and the ritual.

Contact: marie-christine.claes@kikirpa.be

Cellule étude d'histoire de l'art et inventaire > Ornamenta Sacra


Ornamenta sacra. Étude iconologique du patrimoine liturgique des Pays-Bas méridionaux (1400-1700)


Coordinateur : Prof. Dr Ralph Dekoninck (Université Catholique de Louvain, Louvain-la-Neuve, Group for Early-Modern Cultural Analysis (Gemca), Louvain-la-Neuve

Promoteur 1 : Prof. Dr Barbara Baert, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Iconology Research Group (IRG) / Illuminare
Promoteur 2 : Dr Marie-Christine Claes (IRPA)
Collaborateurs :
Dr Caroline Heering, post-doctorante (UCL), Emmanuel Joly, doctorant (IRPA), Soetkin Vanhauwaert, doctorante (KU Leuven), Wendy Wauters, doctorante (KU Leuven)

Projet financé par la Politique scientifique fédérale belge (BELSPO) dans le cadre de BRAIN-BE

Octobre 2017 – septembre 2020



 

Ce projet, qui réunit des chercheurs de diverses institutions (IRPA, UCL, KU Leuven), vise à mener une étude iconologique et anthropologique du patrimoine liturgique de la fin du Moyen Âge et du début des Temps modernes dans les Pays-Bas méridionaux (1400-1700), un patrimoine connu à l'époque comme ornamenta sacra. Les chercheurs s'intéresseront à différents types d'objets – réalisés dans une multitude de matériaux et de techniques (calices, ostensoirs, encensoirs, vases d'autel, chandeliers, chasubles...) – qui jouent un rôle fondamental dans les rites et occupent une place centrale dans l'art religieux ancien. Ils étudieront l'origine, la nature (matérielle, technique, stylistique, iconographique...) et l'évolution de cette production pour mieux comprendre l'importance religieuse, sociale et artistique qu'elle revêtait à une époque marquée par de profondes transformations liturgiques ainsi que des conflits et des réformes religieuses.

De ce point de vue, les Pays-Bas méridionaux n’ont pas été choisis par hasard : leur situation dans une région frontalière religieuse et culturelle en fait un observatoire intéressant pour décrypter l'évolution des relations entre l'art et la liturgie.  Ce cadre spatio-temporel nous permettra de déterminer dans quelle mesure les changements de normes (surtout après le Concile de Trente et la Romanisation de la liturgie qui lui a succédé), mais aussi le tumulte politico-religieux (comme la furie iconoclaste de 1566) ont laissé des traces dans les pratiques liturgiques.

L'anthropologie historique du visible, du tangible et du rituel nous fournira un cadre méthodologique au travers duquel regarder la nature matérielle et symbolique de ces objets, mais aussi leur contexte spatial et rituel. Leurs formes et leurs fonctions pourront ainsi être réanalysées. Nous développerons par ailleurs une nouvelle méthodologie pour retracer les liens (en termes d'origine, de typologie et de chronologie) entre les objets qui faisaient partie des mêmes ensembles liturgiques, ensembles aujourd'hui souvent démantelés et dispersés dans des collections différentes (musées, collections privées, trésors d'églises...). 


De nouveaux outils en ligne

L'objectif principal de ce projet est d'attirer l'attention sur ce patrimoine culturel menacé ou délaissé en développant de nouvelles ressources en ligne sur le portail BALaT de l'Institut royal du Patrimoine artistique (IRPA). Ces nouveaux outils serviront bien sûr à l'équipe de chercheurs, mais ils formeront aussi un outil efficace pour une large communauté nationale ou internationale intéressée par l'étude, la conservation et la valorisation de ces objets – le plus souvent classés simplement dans les arts décoratifs. Le projet contribuera ainsi à la connaissance et à la promotion de ce riche patrimoine, il mènera à l'amélioration de la gestion des données numériques liées à ces objets et aidera à valoriser notre patrimoine photographique fédéral.


Ornamenta
et decorum

Dans la lignée des nouvelles tendances de la recherche en histoire de l'art dans le domaine des relations entre l'art et la religion, nous analyserons à la loupe le statut complexe et évolutif de ces objets, leurs fonctions et leur usage. Ces objets étant destinés à servir de support à la liturgie, ils sont très étroitement liés à un contexte rituel. Il sera donc utile d’étudier leur puissance performative, laquelle est très liée à leur dimension esthétique. Ces objets liturgiques ne sont en effet pas seulement efficaces par leur fonction, mais aussi par leurs valeurs matérielles, symboliques et artistiques. Bien que ces deux dimensions centrales - l'esthétique et la fonctionnalité - soient traditionnellement considérées comme des antithèses, leurs interactions intrinsèques doivent être revues au regard du decorum, à savoir la façon dont leur forme sert leur fonction.


Sens et expérience

Cette approche du rôle des ornements dans leur relation avec la valeur esthétique et les fonctions liturgiques des objets étudiés invite à repenser les interactions entre motions et émotions. Nous allons puiser dans les études récentes de l'histoire des sens et du sensoriel pour apporter un éclairage neuf sur l'expérience synesthétique que procurent les ornamenta sacra. Une partie de l'étude se centrera sur les différentes fonctions de cette expérience du sensoriel : voir, entendre, toucher, sentir et goûter. Nous montrerons comment les différents supports renforcent efficacement ces sens vis-à-vis du public et du rituel.

Contact : marie-christine.claes@kikirpa.be